Friday, April 2, 2010


Friday, April 2, 2010

The history of Nepal goes back to very old days. Ahirs were the first kings of Nepal. Ahirs ruled the kathmanduth century B.C. Then the Kiratis came. Yalambar was the first Kirati King. Jitedasti, Sthunko and Patuk were other famous Kirati Kings. valley in the 8

Gasti was the last Kirati King. King Nimisha defeated Gasti and established the Soma dynasty. Mitaksya, Kakvarma and Pashuprekshya Deva became the kings of Nepal after Nimisha. Vaskar Varma was the last king of the Soma dynasty. Vaskar Varma put Bhumi Varma on the throne who was a Rajput of the Surya Dynasty as he did not have any son.


Supushapa was the first Lichchhavi king of Nepal. Mana Deva was the most famous king of this dynasty. Mana Deva built a famous palace called “Mangriha”. Mana Deva also introduced Nepalese coins for the first time, known as “Manaka”. Mana Deva also introduced Nepalese coins for the first time, known as “Mananka”. Siva Dev I, Amshu Varma, Narendra Dev, Siva Dev II, Jay Dev, Armudi and Guna Kamadev became the kings of Nepal after Mana Dev. Lichchhavi kings were civilized and advanced in culture. They developed Nepalese art and craft. They extended the territory of Nepal far and wide. The people were happy under Lichchhavis. So, the Lichchhavi period is regarded as the “Golden Age” in the history of Nepal.


Ari Malla was the first Malla king of Nepal. Other famous Malla kings were Jayasthiti Malla, Paratap Malla, Bhupatindra Malla, Siddhi Narasingh Malla, Mahendra Malla, Jaya Prakash Malla, etc. During the MallaKathmandu, Badgaon (Bhaktapur) and Patan, each ruled by separate kings. The last Malla kings were Jay Parakash Malla in Kathmandu, Tej Narsingh Malla in Patan, and Ranjit Malla in Bhaktapur. Among the Malla kings, Jayasthiti Malla and Pratap Malla were the most famous kings.


The founder of the Shah dynasty was Drabya Shah who ruled over Gorkha. Ram Shah and Nara Bhupal Shah were other famous Shah Kings of Gorkha. Prithvi Narayan Shah, the son of Nara Bhupal Shah, became the most famous king of the Shah dynasty in the history of Nepal. Prithvi Narayan Shah defeated minor rulers of different parts of Nepal and united them into a nation. Defeating Malla kings of Kathmandu Valley in 1768 A.D, Prithvi Narayan Shah made Kathmandu the capital of his kingdom. Pratap Simha Shah, Rana Bahadur Shah, Girvan Juddha Bikram Shah, Rajendra Vikram Shah, Surendra Bikram Shah, Prithvi Bir Bikram Shah, Tribhuwan Bir Bikram Shah, Mahendra Bir Bikram Shah, Birendra Bir Bikram Shah, Dipendra Bir Bikram Shah and Gyanendra Bir Bikram Shah became kings of Nepal after Prithvi Narayan Shah.


Post a Comment